Smart Start Grant

  • Nassau BOCES has been awarded approximately $500,000 annually for the next five years (2021 - 2026) through the Smart Start Grant. 

    In partnership with NYIT, its goal is to  improve the expertise of grades K - 8 teachers in computer science, engineering, and educational technology to prepare their students to be successful in college, career, and citizenship. 

     

    Grant RFP Narrative

     

    New York State K-12 Computer Science and Digital Literacy Standards

     

    Participating Districts

    East Meadow UFSD

    New Hyde Park - Garden City Park UFSD

    Floral Park Bellrose School District

    North Shore CSD

    Franklin Square School District

    Plainview Old Bethpage 

    Glen Cove School District

    Roosevelt 

    Hempstead UFSD

    Seaford

    Island Park UFSD

    Valley Stream 13 UFSD

    Locust Valley CSD

    West Hempstead UFSD

    Long Beach Public Schools

     

     

    NYIT CoHort Facilitators:  

     

    Name of District School Name / # School Cohort Facilitator Facilitator NYIT EMAIL
    Locust Valley Central School District Bayville Elementary/1 Computer Science Mike Uttendorfer muttendo@nyit.edu
    Locust Valley Central School District Locust Valley Elementary/1 Computer Science Mike Uttendorfer muttendo@nyit.edu
    Glen Cove City School District Deasy Elementary School/1 ELL Support Wafa Deeb-Westervelt wdeebwes@nyit.edu
    New Hyde Park-Garden City Park UFSD Garden City Park School/`1 ELL Support Wafa Deeb-Westervelt wdeebwes@nyit.edu
    Glen Cove Landing Elementary School/2 ELL Support Jackie Grennon Brooks Jbrook15@nyit.edu
    West Hempstead George Washington Elementary School/1 Engineering Connections Frank Morisco fmorisco@nyit.edu
    Island Park Lincoln Orens Middle School/1 Engineering Connections Frank Morisco fmorisco@nyit.edu
    Long Beach East Elementary School/1 Engineering Connections Jolynn Sapia jsapia@nyit.edu
    Long Beach Lindell Elementary School/2 Engineering Connections Jolynn Sapia jsapia@nyit.edu
    North Shore Glenwood Landing School/2 Engineering Connections Tom Troisi ttroisi@nyit.edu
    Long Beach West Elementary School/3 Engineering Connections Keino Baird kbaird01@nyit.edu
    Long Beach Lido Elementary School/4 Engineering Connections Keino Baird kbaird01@nyit.edu
    New Hyde Park-Garden City Park UFSD Hillside Grade School /4 Engineering Tom Troisi ttroisi@nyit.edu
    Valley Stream #13 Wheeler Avenue School/1 Mobile Devices Sarah McPherson smcphers@nyit.edu
    Valley Stream #13 Willow Road School/2 Mobile Devices Sarah McPherson smcphers@nyit.edu
    Glen Cove City School District Gribbin Elementary School /3 Mobile Devices Maria Esposito mesposit@nyit.edu
    New Hyde Park-Garden City Park UFSD Manor Oaks School/3 Mobile Devices Maureen Robins mrobins@nyit.edu
    Glen Cove City School District/4 Connolly Elementary School/4 Mobile Devices Maria Esposito mesposit@nyit.edu
    North Shore Glen Head/1 Special Education Mary Goetz mgoetz@nyit.edu
    New Hyde Park-Garden City Park UFSD New Hyde Park Road School/2 Special Education Maureen Robins mrobins@nyit.edu
    North Shore Sea Cliff School/3 Special Education Mary Goetz mgoetz@nyit.edu

     

    Grant Contacts:

    Nassau BOCES:   

    Elisa A. Maggi 

    emaggi@nasboces.org

     

    New York Institute of Technology:

    Dr. Robert Feirsen

    rfeirsen@nyit.edu

     

    Dr. Minaz Fazal

    mfazal@nyit.edu

     

     

Contact: