Return to Headlines

Long Island High School for the Arts students accepted into top honor societies across the nation and around the world

A group of young dancers standing on a stage
LIHSA dance students perform during the National Honor Society Induction Ceremony held earlier this spring.

LIHSA inducted 26 of its students from 14 districts into three distinguished national honor societies and one international honor society during a special ceremony earlier this spring. Four students were inducted into the International Thespian Society, five students into the National Art Honor Society, 13 into the National Honor Society for Dance Arts, and four students were inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society.

For nearly a century, the International Thespian Society (ITS) has been honoring student achievement. The society’s four key principles are pride, affirmation, confidence and inspiration. As members, students receive national recognition, have access to a variety of resources, and are invited to participate in state and national events, workshops, and college and scholarship auditions. Among its legendary ranks are Kathy Bates, John Goodman, Tom Hanks, Goldie Hawn, Christina Hendricks, Barbara Hershey, Val Kilmer and Cloris Leachman, to name a few.

This year’s ITS inductees are: Samantha Coleman from the Harborfields CSD; Nehir Tan from the North Shore CSD; and Levittown UFSD students Olivia DeMarco and Emma Smith.

For nearly 50 years, the National Art Honor Society (NAHS) has recognized and celebrated students across the nation for their academic achievements and their outstanding talent in the visual arts. NAHS provides its members with invaluable benefits, such as peer recognition, leadership growth opportunities, and college and career preparation. With the uncertainty and potential isolation in the current educational climate, NAHS believes that connecting and acknowledging outstanding visual arts students is more imperative than ever.

This year’s NAHS inductees are: Arin Vecchio from the Locust Valley CSD; Zully Deleon from the Roslyn UFSD; Syosset CSD student Gianna Forte; Ashley Azael from the Uniondale UFSD; and Westbury UFSD student Joseph Stevens.

The National Honor Society for Dance Arts (NHSDA) is part of the National Dance Education Organization. Its mission is to recognize outstanding artistic merit, leadership and academic achievement, and to foster an appreciation for dance as a true art form. Its membership is open to exceptional dance students from throughout the country. 

This year’s NHSDA inductees are: Colleen Breslin from the Deer Park UFSD; Ainsley Waite from the Half Hollow Hills CSD; Paige Winterlich from the Harborfields CSD; Sophia Buffolino Levittown UFSD; Brianna Smith Long Beach City School District; Massapequa UFSD students Amelia Caswelnova, Kaitlyn Geyer, Emma Kramer, Ava Lacalandra, Alexandra LaPlaca and Keira Rowan; and Wantagh UFSD students Alessandra Hermes-Bevans and Kayla Newbert.

Tri-M Music Honor Society was founded more than 85 years ago by the National Association for Music Education and, to this day, remains the only national honor society for music students. Its mission is to create future leaders in music education and advocacy. Candidates must meet a rigorous set of eligibility requirements in several categories including leadership, service, character and academic achievement.

This year’s Tri-M inductees are: Harborfields CSD student Kaitlyn Wille; Madison Melilo from the Locust Valley CSD; North Shore CSD student Nehir Tan from the; and Mayah Asuncion from the Plainview-Old Bethpage CSD.